17 Apart

Photo credit: Google

Strange! I am not afraid.

I was not sad then.

when the door closed on me.

I did not mourn.

Because it was a journey you had to take.

You had to leave. And I let you, gracefully

521 days apart.

Each day bearing a renewed hope of getting close to you.

I asked God to take care of you

And meanwhile prepare me to embrace you.

On your return.

From a world of different choices

Of broken roads

But somehow leading us closer each day

I prayed for you a little extra

each day more than the day before

Something told me you’ll need it.

Especially in tracing your way back

To a love that started way before we met

One thought on “17 Apart

Leave a Reply

